Follow

How to network TurboLaw Time and Billing

TurboLaw Time and Billing stores all of its data in a single database file, which can be located either on your computer, on a removable device (such as a USB drive) or on another computer or server on your network.

Networking TurboLaw Time and Billing is as simple as having each user open the same database file, which should be located somewhere on your network (e.g., on a server or shared folder) that is accessible to all the users.

Once all users are opening and using the same file, they are considered to be "networked." Any data entered into the program by any user is saved in the one same file, and can be seen and modified by all other users.

If you are setting up TurboLaw Time and Billing for the very first time, or are switching from having just 1 copy of the program (1 user) to having multiple users who are all on the same local network, then follow these steps to set up TurboLaw Time and Billing on your network.

  1. Start with the computer that already has client data in TurboLaw Time and Billing. (If none of your computers have any data entered yet, then you can start with any computer).
  2. From this first computer, click the File menu and choose Save As.
  3. Browse to a location on your network (such as a common shared folder) and save your database file there. TurboLaw Time and Billing on this computer will make a copy of the current file and place it in this location, and it will use this new file from now on.
  4. Now, go to each of the other computers and click the File menu and choose Open.
  5. Browse to the same location you picked in step 3, and open the file you just saved there.
  6. Repeat steps 4 & 5 for every other computer with TurboLaw Time and Billing that you want to network together. Once you've opened a database file on your network, TurboLaw Time and Billing will use that file from now on - you don't need to repeat these steps every time you use the program.

Important Notes

If you are using a server or just a shared folder on your network, make sure that the shared folder has appropriate sharing permissions - users need to be able to open, read, write, and modify the TurboLaw Time and Billing database file.

TurboLaw Time and Billing cannot be used at the same time by multiple users if you are using a cloud-based storage or file sharing system (e.g., Dropbox, Skydrive, Sugarsync, etc.). This is because these systems do not actually allow users to access the same file at the same time - instead, they make copies of the file on each user's computer, and changes to this file are then synched back to the master copy "in the cloud." When multiple users make changes to the same file at the same time, the cloud synchronization system will be unable to "sync" the multiple changes, which will result in conflicts and possibly duplicate files being created.

However, cloud-based storage or file sharing systems can be used with TurboLaw Time and Billing, so long as only 1 user is accessing the program at a time (e.g., a single user who has a copy of the program both on a work computer and a home computer, which they never use at the same time).

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk